irishsraka.blogg.se

Gre powerprep 2 quantitative data analysis
Gre powerprep 2 quantitative data analysis







  1. #Gre powerprep 2 quantitative data analysis how to#
  2. #Gre powerprep 2 quantitative data analysis free#

Next, I moved on to Kaplan’s GRE Prep guide, as advised, to improve my performance on the verbal section. I enjoyed it, learning hundreds or up to a thousand (I don’t know the exact number) new words from their etymology which greatly improved my practice performance on Text Completion and Sentence Equivalence questions. To say my vocabulary moderately improved would be seriously downplaying its impact – it’s a wealthy (not just rich) book. Thereafter, courtesy of Snazzy, I studied the Norman Lewis Word Power Made Easy to improve my vocabulary. This revived my zeal to continue studying.

gre powerprep 2 quantitative data analysis

I shared the result with the group and was positively encouraged and congratulated by most of those who saw it.

#Gre powerprep 2 quantitative data analysis free#

I registered with Princeton review to get 4 free practice tests and took my first (and most impressive practice test till date), getting a total of 326. These study guides took about 2-3 weeks to complete them alongside actively participating on the group and coordinating a few more Q&A sessions.Īfterwards, I almost completely lost zeal for a week or two and It took the advice of “Ejanla”, who persistently sounded the need to take practice tests, to motivate me to take my very first practice test. For the verbal, the techniques were quite helpful and made me realize my vocabulary was quite poor to accomplish anything much in the TC and SE sections. I had to re-learn basic arithmetic and other topics while discovering I had forgotten a lot (or oblivious) of techniques and traps. The next point of focus for me was Manhattan’s study guides, which made me feel like a baby. I quickly became settled with the group’s activity in about two weeks and adjusted to its unending buzz, eventually becoming an integral part of it.

gre powerprep 2 quantitative data analysis

Incentives were offered by one of the graduate students on the group – I still don’t know his real name (let me just call him “Ejanla”) in form of give-aways to the first to give correct solutions to certain questions. I covered a whole lot of concepts by participating in the daily Q & A sessions, particularly relishing days when quant was the focus. It took me a few days to exhaust those study materials before engaging in intense practice on the GRE group, as you had to be active on the group else, you’d be kicked out. For my performance in the verbal section, just skip, lol. While I initially felt very confident about my ability with any kind of quant, considering my engineering background and knowing the topics it generally covers, my performance was average and reality set in really fast. My preparation started with the Official GRE (quantitative and verbal) reasoning materials by ETS 150 practice questions, where I learned the general structure of the exam and immediately tested my ability to tackle GRE-like questions with the sample questions and answers provided. Barely a week after introducing myself on the group after being added, a weekday was assigned to me (and new fellows) to coordinate the evening’s question and answer sessions, hence I had to sit up almost immediately. A few graduate students (mostly PhD students in the US), who give useful advice and encouragement, and some others who have already secured admission with funding, continuously gave me hope. Also, one or more people selected to coordinate the day’s session, were in place.

gre powerprep 2 quantitative data analysis

#Gre powerprep 2 quantitative data analysis how to#

In the group, relevant aids including tips on how to get around your graduate school journey, links to GRE (and TOEFL) study materials and tons of questions from materials were posted on a daily basis, mostly in the evening. Till date, the “NEW GRE GROUP ANNEX” I was added to is the most active (by every significant measure) WhatsApp group chat I’ve ever been involved with. My journey started early May, this year, when I was added to a GRE group chat courtesy of Ismail Olaniyi who introduced me to most of what I know today about the graduate school journey. MY SCORE: Quant – 169, Verbal – 151, making a total of 320. The analytical writing is scored over 6, quant and verbal each scored over 170. The computer based exam has six sections: 1 Analytical writing section (I’ll call it AWA) divided into two essay tasks – an argument essay in which you evaluate an argument for its validity and an issue essay in which you generally write about the extent to which you agree with a claim or statement, 2 quantitative sections, 2 verbal sections and 1 experimental section (either quant or verbal). In case you’re not familiar with the term, GRE is an acronym for Graduate Record Examination – an exam required by graduate schools (mostly in the US, Canada, and a few other countries) for admission to Masters and PhD programs.









Gre powerprep 2 quantitative data analysis